Welcome to Florida !
We know it can be confusing being new to Florida. You have to get a new DL, new insurance, find bike nights, new friends, repair shops and dealers . Here are a few helpful links. Be sure to check out the events tab after you like the FB page https://www.facebook.com/FLFTMag and website www.floridafullthrottle.com and be sure to join the facebook group “new to Forida bikers” https://www.facebook.com/groups/426653712442318.
If you're wondering where the OG hangs out, Quaker Steak and Lube, the south's largest weekly bike night in Pinellas Park every Weds, and OCC roadhouse/ Bert's Barracuda HD is quickly becoming the second with weekly bike nights every Thursday .That's where you're apt to run into Paul Sr ,Fran Haasch, Bert King and every riding group around. Come on out and say hello and please always tell them Full throttle sent you ! Welcome to year round riding, we're glad you're here!
Yes in Florida we have a “no helmet” law, a “no insurance” law for bikes and very low PIP requirements. If you are moving from up north you've seen our insurance prices are higher, but we never recommend going without insurance on a motorcycle in Florida .A recent study found ¼ to ⅓ of all drivers on the road in Florida carry no insurance. You can never count on the other guy. Some states do not require it at all, yes really! So those snowbirds may not all carry coverage, you really need to. And all you cash home buyers, get an umbrella policy quote, it's less than you think.
Here is the most common question, we pulled up the FLHSMV response:
Will my motorcycle endorsement transfer to Florida?
316.003(2) F.S. If you are coming from another state (other than Alabama) and your license is endorsed for motorcycle operation, Florida will reciprocate the endorsement and the motorcycle course will not be required.
To get your motorcycle endorsement first time:
New resident tags/ licenses
Insurance requirements for vehicles
DMV locations: Note in most counties you need an appt. Click on your county and follow the links to set one.You can only make them online, all you need is an email address to set one and it may take up to a week to get a spot.
Tips to make going to the DMV easier :
You will need two items for proof of address with your new address on them. Opening a new bank account here will give you something you can use the same day ( but most banks here make you get an appt FYI). A lease from a family member works if staying at their home too. They also allow you to self certify your address meaning you swear it is correct and you do live there, that can count for one.
You will need to show a current insurance card (or digital ) with FLORIDA insurance to get a vehicle registration. If you are trying to keep your cheap Ohio insurance you're out of luck, they check it.
Make sure you have all your documents with you, the vehicle you are registering may be necessary too. Expect you will make one more trip. Some people make two appointments and cancel the second one for the next day if it goes well on the first trip.
From flhsmv :General Information
Before you register a vehicle with at least four wheels in Florida, you must show proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance. PIP covers 80 percent of all necessary and reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a covered injury, no matter who caused the crash. PDL coverage pays for damage to another person’s property caused by you or someone else driving your insured vehicle.
Proof of PIP/PDL coverage must be issued by an insurance company licensed in Florida to sell policies or by qualifying for a self-insurance certificate issued by FLHSMV.
Any vehicle with a current Florida registration must:
be insured with PIP and PDL insurance at the time of vehicle registration.
have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP AND a minimum of $10,000 in PDL. Vehicles registered as taxis must carry bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per occurrence and $50,000 for (PDL) coverage.
have continuous coverage even if the vehicle is not being driven or is inoperable. Surrender the license plate/tag BEFORE cancelling your insurance.
purchase the policy from an insurance carrier licensed to do business in Florida. (If you are new to the state, you may ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to a Florida policy.)
maintain Florida insurance coverage continuously throughout the registration period regardless of the vehicle’s location. (Military members stationed out-of-state/country may be exempt. Visit our military page for more information.)
The vehicle you own must have a Florida registration and license plate and be insured with a Florida policy when a non-resident:
accepts employment or engages in a trade, profession or occupation in Florida; or
enrolls children to be educated in a Florida public school.
You must obtain the registration certificate and license plate within 10 days after beginning employment or enrollment. You must also have a Florida certificate of title for your vehicle unless an out-of-state lien holder/lessor holds the title and will not release it to Florida.
Who we call !
Accident attorney The Fran Haasch Law Group 1-727-758-0233 / 1888lawfran www.lawfran.com
Insurance crosslet insurance 1-888-471-0818 https://www.crosslet.com/ We use them. Tell them FT sent you!
Mortgages: Call the “Justin Kelly” team at “VanDyk Mortgage” 1-727-214-6473
Call “Champion Mortgage” email@example.com 1-330-651-2149
Realtor “Allan Weistock” PA, CPA 1-813-288-8000 https://realnetflorida.com/
New Florida medicare Give Sean Sohl a call.
Medical marijuana card www.Maryjanewellnessclinic.com 352-794-3544
Towing: Serving most of FL “Moto Tow” 1-800-TOW A BIKE
“Clearwater Kustoms” 1-727-914-7724
Westside Custom Cycles Inc 1-352-556-2997 firstname.lastname@example.org
A stitch on time www.asweetseat.com 1-727-526-7242
Roofing Done Right Roofing Clearwater 1-727-446-6646
Stereo sound/LED Bagger Works email@example.com 1- 352-232-9409
Moramoto of Tampa 1-813-512-6888 https://www.moramoto.com/
Moramoto of St Petersburg 1-727-800-2944
Lets ride Florida West Coast 727-815-1900 https://letsridegear.com/
Florida Harley Dealerships by region
Adamec HD (Jacksonville) 1-904-493-1931
Adamec St Augustine 1-904-831-1931
Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona 1-386-671-7100
Bruce Rossmeyer’s New Smyrna 1-386-409-3034
Cocoa Beach HD 1-321-799-2221
Space Coast HD ( Palm bay) 1-321-259-1311
Tallahassee HD 1-850-205-4294
Emerald Coast HD ( Fort Walton ) 1-850- 862-4706
Beach Shake HD ( Panama City Beach ) 1-850-334-0055
HD of Pensacola 1-850- 417-8747
HD of Panama City 1-888)-328-0976
Lakeland HD 1-863-802-1971
Orlando HD 1-407-423-0346
Orlando South HD Kissimmee 1-407-944-3700
East Orlando HD 1-407-447-7400
Seminole HS Sanford 1-407-328-1212
Stormy Hill HD (Clermont) 1-352- 243-7111
Gator HD ( Leesburg) 1-352-787-8050
Crystal HD (Crystal River) 1-352-533-9900
Warhorse HD ( Ocala) 1-352-227-1606
Gainesville HD 1-352-331-6363
HD of New Port Richey 1-727-842-4547
Bert's Barracuda HD (Pinellas Park/Clearwater ) 1-727-527-9672
Bert's Black Widow HD (Port Charlotte) 1-941-883-8000
HD of Tampa 1-813-886-7433
Brandon HD 1-813-740-9898
Rossiters HD Sarasota 941-951-6103
Rockstar HD ( Fort Myers) 1-239-533-5148
Miracle City HD ( Titusville) 1-321-239-5226
Treasure Coast HD ( Stuart) 1-772-287-3871
Palm Beach HD 1-561-238-3001
Peterson’s HD Miami 1-786-254-0267
Peterson's HD South 1-786-373-2479
Alligator Alley HD 1-754-206-5451
Peterson's HD Key west 1-305-517-6562
#harleydealerships #newtoflorida #flhsmv #floridabikers #newinsurance #newinflorida #welcometoforida #floridafullthrottlemagazine #lawfran #floridaharley #service #events #biker #berts #occ #quakerstea #floridaharleydealers #hdflorida #moramoto #new #floridaendorsement #newbiker #justmovedtoFL #florida #flftmag
727-935-4875 to advertise, host an event,Bike shows and more #FLFTMAG #Floridas#1BikerMagazine
Free printable adult coloring page sanity break !